Box art

museum pics

Dr. Hugh Hicks

Fort Myers, FL.
 S.Slabyhoudek

links

Related links
 Submit a link

Author Topic: home made light bulbs?? anyone ever??  (Read 11122 times)

Offline tyler

• New Member!
    • http://bddw.com
home made light bulbs?? anyone ever??
« on: October 22, 2003, 10:08:00 am »
hello all
im a new member, and a small collector.
ive been fascinated by old school ighting for many years.
ive recently become obsesed with making my own lightbulbs, i was inspired to loo here for suppot after seeing james light bulb repair. im an artist and designer with some engineering knowledge. ive gotten as far as hand blowing the glass, have argon tanks, and a vaccuum pump. have tungsten wire. and have done some basic tests. ive been doing alot of research, but as you can imagine its not a popular hobby, its all very basic or way over my head. anyone out there that could give me some consult on some of the deeper questions, id very gladly pay for a professional or super knowledgeable persons consultancy. im also hand making plugs from ebony and strling silver (this was easy) the idea is basically designing a lamp with no lamp, a completely hand made reference to the basic light bulb and plug.
i want to permanently dim the bulb for a simple soft glow (with a resistor??) for maximum life. and also make t with some sort of refractory plug that can be removed and refitted after failure. im doing a limited edition of them more as functional art. my test have not been able to keep a glow for more than a few seconds, am i crazy or is this possible.
look forward to any help and thanks for the great site....its great!

im a designer and artist in new york, my web site is BDDW.com

thanks again
tyler hays

Offline James

• www.lamptech.co.uk
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2003, 09:12:00 pm »
Hi Tyler,

First of all to make a decent lamp you need to make it sealed gas-tight.  Have you sealed metal wires through glass before?