Box art

museum pics

Dr. Hugh Hicks

Fort Myers, FL.
 S.Slabyhoudek

links

Related links
 Submit a link

Author Topic: 750 watt Edison bulb  (Read 11207 times)

Offline Jessica Hatcher

• New Member!
750 watt Edison bulb
« on: March 07, 2004, 07:08:00 pm »
I am trying to research an old GE National Mazda lamp which was inherited. Forgive me as I describe this as I am new to the descriptive language. The measurements are are approximate as the bulb is in a display case thus difficult to accurately measure.
However, the bulb itself measures around 9-10 in height, with a with what appears to be a white porcelain base. Within the larger outer bulb is another tubular shaped piece of glass which measures roughly 4-5 inches.
At the top of this "tube" is a disc shaped piece of hand blown glass on which is written a5, 750, 74x (or maybe 79x). In this glass disc the filaments are melded.
The base of the bulb has the patent markings, Fortunately, I have been able to find their meanings. As well, I know it is a 750 watt bulb and i believe the a5 indicates voltage(?). The 74(or79)x has me puzzled. The base markings I have identified. I know a picture would be the best way to go about this but I am in the process of a move and it may be a while before I can accomplish this.
The story behind the bulb goes ... My husbands great uncle by marriage, inherited it from his father who was friends with Edison. One day over lunch, my husbands great uncle's father told Edison he was having trouble reading and needed a brighter lamp. A couple of days later, Mr. Edison brought him the lamp. However, after only one burning, he packed it away. Certainly, it was bright enough, but he said it gave off so much heat he couldn't stand to be in the same room with it! Although all the old documents would appear to back up this story, you never can tell...
If anyone could help with any information on this, I would be most appreciative. Thank you. Jessica

Offline Yoshi

750 watt Edison bulb