Box art

museum pics

Dr. Hugh Hicks

Fort Myers, FL.
 S.Slabyhoudek

links

Related links
 Submit a link

Author Topic: Vintage: What's Hot? What's Not?  (Read 15226 times)

Offline Bousquet

Vintage: What's Hot? What's Not?
« on: January 16, 2001, 10:22:00 am »
Now that the peak season for hunting down vintage Christmas lights is approaching an end, what do you think are the "HOT" (i.e., high demand or over-valued) and "NOT" (i.e., low demand or undervalued)vintage Christmas items in 2000-01?

My list is below.  Maybe we could have a good discussion.

Although I've been saving old Christmas lights for more than 20 years and collecting avidly for a dozen years, this is the first time I carefully followed eBay auctions for Christmas lights b/w Thanksgiving and New Year's.  There seemed to be some reasonable bargains in the first two weeks after Thanksgiving, but then, suddenly, it appeared that bids on some "hot" items like lighted ice lights and aluminum trees really took off.  Overall, though, I was pleased by how many good sets of boxed lights--my particular interest--showed up on eBay, esp. in view of their increasing scarcity at antique shops, shows, and malls.  Anyway, here are my lists:

HOT for 2000-01:
 *Miniature-base ("C6") bubble light sets
 *Candleabra-base ("C7") bubble light sets (even the NOMA repros and 1980s sets)
 *Rotating lights for illuminating those retro-60s aluminum trees
 *Lighted ice bulbs and sets
 *NOMA Santa boxed set from the 1930s
 *Matchless stars (always solid)
 *1920s Propp sets (esp. Santa w/megaphone)
 *packaged replacement sets of C-6 bulbs
 *pre-1920 boxed sets

NOT (or undervalued)
 *1920s boxed sets (uncommon, but, except for the Propp sets, they don't seem to attract the # of bidders that match their relative scarcity)
 *post-1965 sub-miniature-base ("mini") sets
 *C-9 bulbs and sets
 *Kristal Stars and Paramount Stars
 *packaged replacement sets of C-7 and C-9 bulbs