Box art

museum pics

Dr. Hugh Hicks

Fort Myers, FL.
 S.Slabyhoudek

links

Related links
 Submit a link

Author Topic: S-4 Sunlamp Bulbs  (Read 10617 times)

Offline silvertoneman

• New Member!
S-4 Sunlamp Bulbs
« on: July 20, 2008, 11:29:55 am »
I'm new to this, so bear with me. I had always supposed that the Mazda S-1 and S-2 sunlamp bulbs were immediately followed by the RS reflector sunlamp. The other day at a thrift shop I picked up a Sears suitcase style sunlamp that, judging from the graphics and construction, dates from the late thirties. With it were two Mazda S-4 sunlamp bulbs, one by GE, the other by Westinghouse. They are of very heavy clear glass, A-21 envelope, Edison admedium base,  and contain a small quartz arc tube, starting resistor, etc. The GE has had some use, and shows end-darkening from electrode sputtering. The Westinghouse seems almost unused, and has nicer construction than the GE; pretty mica insulation plates, and a higher-quality resistor. Both bulbs operate well. I have searched old advertising, company literature, and can find absolutely nothing on these bulbs. Are these bulbs perhaps a short-lived step between the S-1-S-2 and the RS, or am I overlooking something? Was there an S-3 sunlamp bulb? Any help at all would be appreciated. I will send a picture when I can get hold of a digital camera. Thanks...Dave Salny

Offline Tim

• Administrator
    • http://www.bulbcollector.com
Re: S-4 Sunlamp Bulbs
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2008, 11:46:55 am »
Welcome to the forum Dave.  I have not seen any documented evidence that an ?S-3? was ever made, but I?ve often wondered why there was an S-1, S-2, and S-4, but no ?S-3?.  Anyway, the S-4 is well known among collectors and James Hooker has some nice information here:

http://www.lamptech.co.uk/Spec%20Sheets/GE%20S4.htm

Offline silvertoneman

• New Member!
« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2008, 03:12:00 pm »