Box art

museum pics

Dr. Hugh Hicks

Fort Myers, FL.
 S.Slabyhoudek

links

Related links
 Submit a link

Author Topic: MASSIVE Bulb Collection Donated to Museum!?!?!  (Read 8342 times)

Offline ALM

MASSIVE Bulb Collection Donated to Museum!?!?!
« on: May 01, 2003, 10:46:00 pm »
Maybe someone more 'in the know' than I can clue me in on the details, assuming they are true.  Some of you know I am a novice collector (fans, bulbs, and just got my first few toy steam engines), I do some buying and selling to support my habit, and always follow information on the various forums.  Along the way, I have had the GREAT fortune of chatting with some of you on a rather regular basis and many have helped me with information and interesting educational bits.  Additionally, some folks I simply know by a username and a passing email or two.

Anyhooooooo, I heard this story from an engine collector and wonder if anybody can give me actual details.  There was a guy who had a really fine bulb collection who died recently.  (I'm guessing it was Dr. Hicks because I thought I read he died relatively recently.)  Almost immediately, it is alleged, some "less than reputable" bulb collector and his compadre (or compadres) tried to get their hands on the collection.  Their aggressiveness and persistence was allegedly SO insensitive that the estate's heirs decided to actually GIVE the collection to a museum rather than sell it to these guys.  The whole kit'n'kaboodle!!!  (This dude claims that the collection was of some of the rarest-birds and scarcest of puppies... and was worth in dollar value... perhaps hundreds of thousands of dollars OR MORE!)