Box art

museum pics

Dr. Hugh Hicks

Fort Myers, FL.
 S.Slabyhoudek

links

Related links
 Submit a link

Author Topic: Trying to locate a modern bulb with an unusual coating.  (Read 17268 times)

Offline Cecil

• New Member!
Trying to locate a modern bulb with an unusual coating.
« on: October 03, 2009, 05:41:19 pm »
I have a chandler which holds 8 candelabra bulbs.  The ones I have been using for many years are 40 watt, colored, the traditional taper, and coated with a very fine grit.  The grit is possible glass or a hard plastic and is not any bigger than a large grain of sand.  I have found similar bulbs with a very course grit, similar to that found on a number of decorative Christmas tree bulbs but the appearance is just not the same.  For years I have stopped at every lighting store I find, I keep a burned out bulb in the glove compartment of my cars, hoping to fine a bulb with this fine a grit but to no avail.  Needless to say I have also combed the internet but without success.

There are no legible markings on the threaded base so I cannot identify the manufacturer.  Any assistance in finding this type of bulb would be greatly appreciated as they look simply beautiful with there bands of colored lighting reflecting off the clear glass chimneys of the chandler.  I can only assume that they may no longer be in production and if this is the case hopefully someone will again start to manufacture them.

Your time and consideration in this matter is greatly appreciated.

Cecil

Offline Chris Kocsis

Re: Trying to locate a modern bulb with an unusual coating.
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2009, 11:15:10 am »
Hi Cecil, please post a picture and explain colored.  I'll keep my eyes open.

Chris

Offline Cecil

• New Member!
« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2010, 09:28:27 am »
Good Morning,