Box art

museum pics

Dr. Hugh Hicks

Fort Myers, FL.
 S.Slabyhoudek

links

Related links
 Submit a link

Author Topic: Color Changing Bulb  (Read 11138 times)

Offline Jason

• New Member!
Color Changing Bulb
« on: February 27, 2006, 08:03:35 am »
Hello,
? ?My name is Jason Nieznanski and I am an engineering student at Pittsford Mendon high school in Rochester New York. I was wondering if it would it be helpful to be warned before a light bulb goes out? I have an idea as how to do this in multiple applications and was wondering if anyone would find this useful.

Thanks for your time,
         ? ? ? ? ? ? ? Jason

Offline Zelandeth

• Cold Philips SOX 35W
    • Zel's Lair - an assorted grab bag of lighting information, automotive mayhem, and anything else I remember to upload
Re: Color Changing Bulb
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2006, 02:41:42 pm »
Hello, and welcome to the forums!

I can see that this could possibly be handy in certain mission-critical applications, it's something which would likely see limited appeal though, especially given that several lamp technologies to behave in such a way anyway.  Also, most mission-critical applications will generally have at least one backup lamp there in reserve for the very reason that lamp failures can be unpredictable.

Fluorescent lamps (CF's failing due to a duff ballast excepted) will tend to dim at least somewhat visibly in their last couple of hundred hours, and blackening at the tube ends tends to give the game away to an extent too, they have caught me off guard a couple of times though.